Indian Foreign Services

Stream Civil Services Exams
Course Type Professional

Indian Foreign Services (IFS) examination is conducted in India which is the Administrative Diplomatic Civil Services under group A and B of Executive Branch Civil Services of Government of India. These Civil Services deals with Foreign Policies as the main subject matter and prerogative of Union Government. 

The offices held by the officers of IFS are the Ambassador, High Commissioner, Consul General, Permanent Representative of India to the United Nations and Foreign Secretary.

Foreign Secretary is the Administrative head of the services and External Affairs Minister is the political head of the services.


Salary Structure and Scope in IFS:


  • For IFS officer- Part 1:

Pay band of an IFS officer is Rs 15,600 to Rs 39,100 per month.

With the grade for-

  • Junior scale- Rs 5,400/-
  • Senior time scale- Rs 6,600/-
  • Junior Administrative Grade level- Rs 7,600/-
  • For IFS officer- Part 2:

The pay scale offered to IFS officer (Part-2) is Rs 37,400 to Rs 67,000 per month.

With the grade for-

  • Selection Grade Level Officer- Rs 8,700/-
  • Super Time Scale Officer- Rs 12,000/-
  • Pay scale for Apex Pay Scale Level Officer is Rs 80,000/- per month that is fixed.


Apart from the attractive pay scale, other perks offered to the IFS officers includes the facilities like accommodation at cheaper rates, medical treatment expenses, official vehicle, abroad study opportunities, retirement benefits, and monthly pension scheme etc. 




Eligibility Criteria:


The candidates appearing for IFS examination must meet the eligibility criteria described by the organising authority. This eligibility criteria is as given below:


  • Candidate must be a citizen of India, or a subject of Nepal / Bhutan, Tibetan refugee who have come to India for settling permanently before 1st January, 1963.
  • Candidate who is Indian originated have migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African Countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania (Formerly Tanganyika and Zanzibar), Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.
  • Candidate must hold a degree from any of recognised universities.
  • Candidates must be between the age group of 21 and 30 years, as on August 1.

Their is a relaxation on upper age limit of candidates according to categories as given below.

  • For SC / ST candidates, upto 5 years.
  • For Other Backward Categories (OBC), upto 3 years.
  • For State of Jammu & Kashmir Domiciled during the period from the 1st January 1980 to 31st December 1989, Up to 5 years.
  • For Defence Services Personnel, upto 5 years.
  • ECOs/ SSCOs, up to 5 years.
  • For Blind, deaf-mute and Orthopaedically handicapped candidates, up to 10 years.
  • Number of attempts allowed for different categories candidates are:
    • For general category, 7 attempts are given.
    • No restrictions for SC / ST candidates.
    • 9 attempts are allowed for OBC candidates