Indian Forest Service

Stream Civil Services Exams
Course Type Professional

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts Indian Forest Service (IFOS) examination for recruiting officers for Scientific Management of forests in India, at all India level by the Government of India.

Though the IFOS officers have to serve both under state and central government, they are placed under various State cadres and joint cadres.

balance. An IFOS officer is largely independent of district administration and exercises administrative, judicial and financial powers in their own domain. The main services of IFOS includes implementation of the National Forest Policy which aims to ensure environmental stability and maintenance of ecological balance.


The candidates applying for Indian Forest Service examination have to apply through common online application form for Civil Services Examination.

The selection of officers through IFOS includes three stages that are preliminary, main examination and personality test. The candidates willing to apply for IFOS examination, they first have to appear for Civil services preliminary exam and qualify the same to get shortlisted for next IFOS main examination.



Pay Scale / Salary and Scope in IFOS.


The employment opportunities in IFOS and their approximate annual pay scale is described below.

  • For the post of Principal Chief Conservator of Forest- Rs. 15,00,000
  • For Additional Principal Chief Conservator of Forest- Rs. 14,00,000
  • Inspector General of Forest (Chief Conservator of Forest)- Rs. 13,00,000
  • Deputy Inspector General of Forest (Deputy Conservator of Forest)- Rs. 12,00,000
  • Assistant Inspector General of Forest- Rs. 10,00,000


The permanent job with excellent employees benefits, salary increases as per the growth in experience and position.



Eligibility Criteria:


The candidates applying for IFS examination have to meet the physical eligibility criteria specified on IFS official website. Candidates are advised to visit the IFS official website and check the rules and regulations. The eligibility criteria that candidates have to satisfy is as described below:


  • Candidates must be citizen of India.
  • Or a subject of Nepal or Bhutan.
  • Or a Tibetan refugee who has migrated to India with the intention to settle in India permanently before 1st January, 1962.
  • Or a person of Indian origin who has migrated to India with the intention of permanently settling in India, from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries like Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia, and Vietnam. Such candidates have to issue a Certificate of eligibility which has been issued by Government of India.
  • Candidate should hold a Bachelor’s degree in which they compulsorily have atleast one of the subjects like Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor’s degree in Agriculture or Forestry or Engineering of a recognised university or equivalent as a part of their syllabus.
  • Age limit of a candidate should be between 21 years and 32 years of age, as on 1st August, 2020 of the year of examination. Their is a relaxation on upper age limit of candidates according to categories as given below.
    • For SC / ST candidates, upto 5 years.
    • For Other Backward Categories (OBC), upto 3 years.
    • For State of Jammu & Kashmir Domiciled during the period from the 1st January 1980 to 31st December 1989, Up to 5 years.
    • For Defence Services Personnel, upto 5 years.
    • ECOs/ SSCOs, up to 5 years.
    • For Blind, deaf-mute and Orthopaedically handicapped candidates, up to 10 years.
  • Number of attempts allowed for different categories candidates are:
    • For general category, 6 attempts are given.
    • No restrictions for SC / ST candidates.
    • 9 attempts are allowed for OBC candidates